Skip to content

Benefits of Apple Cider Vinegar

June 27, 2012

Praktikos Institute

Apple cider vinegar has been used for centuries. Not many people are aware of the health benefits of consuming it. The health benefits may surprise you.
Apple cider vinegar is made from fermenting apple cider, a juice made from apples. It can also be produced from apple must, a freshly made juice including the apple skins and seeds. The process of fermentation first breaks down sugars into an alcohol and then it becomes a vinegar. Apple cider vinegar is available in two forms, pasteurized and unpasteurized. The pasteurized vinegar is a clear, sparkling vinegar. Unpasteurized vinegar is a darker, murkier variety with sediment at the bottom of the bottle. Unpasteurized, raw, organic vinegar contains more nutrient and health benefiting qualities than that of pasteurized vinegar. Known as the ‘mother of vinegar’ unpasteurized vinegar is the best choice for consumption. This article discusses the nutrient qualities of apple cider vinegar, its profound health benefits and how to include it in your diet.
Apple cider vinegar is a source of the vitamins A, B1, B2, B6, C and E. It contains the minerals selenium, manganese, copper, potassium, calcium, iron, zinc, magnesium, sodium and phosphorus. All of these vitamins and minerals play vital roles in healthy body functions. Acetic acid gives the vinegar its acidic properties and it also contains pectin, ash, enzymes, bacterial by products of the fermentation process, lactic acid and malic acid.
The father of medicine Hippocrates used apple cider vinegar as a medicinal treatment for many ailments in around 400 BC. It his early research it is said he had only two remedies, apple cider vinegar and honey. Unpasteurized apple cider vinegar has been scientifically studied and has unveiled some miraculous health benefits. These health benefits are as follows.
•Lowers Bad Cholesterol (LDL)
The pectin in apple cider vinegar helps reduce the amount of bad cholesterol in the blood. Bad cholesterol causes the build up of fatty plaques on the inside of arteries. The heart has to work so much harder to pump blood through these arteries which results in high blood pressure. Eventually these fatty plaques can occlude the flow of blood through the arteries causing heart attack and or stroke. Pectin helps to prevent the fatty plaque build up.
•Anti-oxidant
Being a rich source of Vitamin A or Beta-carotene, apple cider vinegar helps to destroy free radicals in the blood stream. Free radicals cause the oxidization of tissues which leads to inflammation. Inflammation is a pretense to many serious disease processes. Anti-oxidants also slow down the ageing process. People, who consume apple cider vinegar daily, report healthy glowing complexions.
•Colds, Influenza, Sinusitis and Runny Nose Treatment and Prevention
Being a rich source of potassium and vitamin C, apple cider vinegar helps to prevent and treat infections. It has natural anti-bacterial and anti-fungal properties. People with severe sinusitis or a constant runny nose have found relief from including apple cider vinegar in their diets daily.
•Weight Loss
Apple cider vinegar helps to breakdown fat that is stored in the body. A study was performed involving obese people who each took a daily dose of apple cider vinegar. After a 12 week trial, all of the participants lost body fat from around the abdomen and other areas of the body. On average each lost about 5 pounds and significantly lowered their triglyceride levels in the blood stream. (Bad cholesterol). Apple cider vinegar prevents insulin spikes in the blood stream after consuming a meal. Insulin spikes cause the body to retain fat. When apple cider vinegar is consumed before eating a meal, it helps the body to absorb less carbohydrates and fats. Absorption rates of carbohydrates and fats slow allowing them to be eliminated from the body. Apple cider vinegar is also being studied for its use in the treatment of type 2 diabetes.
•Acid Reflux and Heartburn
Many people find permanent relief from acid reflux and heartburn by consuming a small amount of apple cider vinegar a day.
•Arthritis, Gout and Joint Pain Relief
Malic acid, a component of apple cider vinegar dissolves uric acid deposits in joints. The uric acid is then eliminated from the body. Uric acid deposits are common in arthritis, gout and other conditions related to joint pain. Apple cider vinegar effectively provides relief.
•Dandruff Treatment
Apple cider vinegar has been used as a treatment for dandruff. Dilute 1 cup of apple cider vinegar in 1 cup of water. Add to a spray bottle and spray the hair and scalp. Cover the head with a towel and leave insitu for one hour before rinsing out. Be careful not to get any of the solution in your eyes or ears. Apple cider vinegar naturally destroys the bacteria responsible for dandruff.
•Osteoporosis Prevention, Health Bones and Teeth
Being a rich source of calcium and potassium, apple cider vinegar helps to ensure strong healthy bones and teeth. Apple cider vinegar when consumed should always be diluted in water or rinse the mouth with water after consuming it. The acid in the vinegar can cause the enamel on teeth to erode and or cause yellowing of the teeth.
Apple cider vinegar can be used as a replacement for oils in salad dressings to add a tang. Many people find that diluting 2 tablespoons of apple cider vinegar and 1 tablespoon of honey in a glass of water to be a good morning tonic to start the day. You can consume 3 teaspoons before each meal to benefit also but many people find that undiluted apple cider vinegar burns the throat and esophagus on the way down. When using unpasteurized apple cider vinegar, be sure to shake the bottle well before use, to incorporate the sediment at the bottom. Remember unpasteurized apple cider vinegar has no nutritional or health benefits.
Sources
The Vinegar Institute Apple Cider Vinegar- An approach to treating type 2 Diabetes Retrieved June 27,2012
Natural News Celeste M. Smucker, MPH, PhD Three ways apple cider vinegar benefits weight loss Retrieved June 27,2012
Livestrong.com Norma Chew Health benefits of Braggs Apple cider vinegar Retrieved June 27,2012
Read more at Suite101: The Powerful Health Benefits of Apple Cider Vinegar | Suite101.com http://suite101.com/article/the-powerful-health-benefits-of-apple-cider-vinegar-a409259#ixzz1z0LDwsuJ

26 Comments leave one →
  1. July 5, 2012 2:18 pm

    Thank you – welcome and I hope you continue to follow and enjoy the blog.

  2. July 9, 2012 2:42 pm

    Great weblog here! Additionally your site loads up fast! What host are
    you using? Can I am getting your associate
    link to your host? I want my website loaded up as quickly
    as yours lol

  3. July 9, 2012 2:48 pm

    Howdy would you mind sharing which blog platform you’re working with? I’m going to start my own blog in the near future but I’m having a difficult time selecting between BlogEngine/Wordpress/B2evolution and Drupal. The reason I ask is because your design and style seems different then most blogs and I’m looking for something unique. P.S Apologies for getting off-topic but I had to ask!

  4. July 9, 2012 9:20 pm

    Very great post. I just stumbled upon your weblog and wished to mention that I have really loved surfing around
    your weblog posts. After all I’ll be subscribing for your rss feed and
    I hope you write again soon!

  5. July 13, 2012 12:37 pm

    Sometimes I am only sending along the information I receive and I Cite the authors. I wish I could take credit for the wonderful writing styles. !!

  6. July 13, 2012 12:38 pm

    My personal website is http://www.yourwellnessbychoice.com all contact info is there.

  7. July 13, 2012 12:42 pm

    Prevention is always better and less expensive than treatment. I agree that oregnant women should have prenatal care, adn it is usually avvailable even without insurance- at least in California. However, it is also true that Preganant women should educate themselves on their own care and be proactive about their health. I think many people tend to rely on the Insurance companies and the medical community to”Take care of them” and not take responsibility themselves.

  8. July 13, 2012 12:44 pm

    Thank you for your comments. I post things as I become aware of new happenings int he world of alternative/complimentary care. I usually do not go back and cover the same topic unless there is something NEW that I discover.

  9. July 13, 2012 12:45 pm

    Tahnk you- welcome and come back soon!!

  10. July 13, 2012 12:46 pm

    Thank you so much for your comments. Welcome to the site and hope you return soon.

  11. July 17, 2012 7:42 pm

    I simply want to say I am just very new to blogging and site-building and definitely loved this web site. Almost certainly I’m planning to bookmark your blog . You really have remarkable writings. Thanks a bunch for sharing your blog site.

  12. July 18, 2012 11:49 am

    You could definitely see your skills in the paintings you write.
    The world hopes for more passionate writers like
    you who are not afraid to mention how they believe.

    All the time go after your heart.

  13. July 23, 2012 6:46 am

    After reading your blog post I browsed your website a bit and noticed you aren’t ranking nearly as well in Google as you could be. I possess a handful of blogs myself and I think you should take a look here: http://seopressors.org You’ll find it’s a very nice tool that can bring you a lot more visitors. Keep up the quality posts

  14. July 25, 2012 4:34 am

    Nice post. I used to be checking constantly this
    blog and I am impressed! Extremely useful info specifically the final phase :
    ) I care for such information a lot. I was looking for this certain information for a
    long time. Thanks and best of luck.

  15. July 25, 2012 7:26 am

    I haven’t checked in here for some time since I thought it was getting boring, but the last few posts are good quality so I guess
    I will add you back to my daily bloglist. You deserve it my friend 🙂

    • July 31, 2012 4:47 pm

      Sorry if I have bored you with any of my articles. Welcome back and I hope future articles will be more to your interests.

  16. July 25, 2012 8:23 pm

    Nice post. I was checking constantly this blog
    and I am impressed! Extremely helpful information particularly the last part 🙂 I care for
    such info much. I was seeking this certain information for a very long
    time. Thank you and good luck.

  17. July 31, 2012 4:46 pm

    Thank you for following. I do not have a newsletter- I post on this blog and it rolls to a few other places. You can follow Wellnessbychoice on Facebook for more information.

  18. July 31, 2012 4:52 pm

    The design for my blog was done by the webmaster at GOLD COUNTRY WEB in the Jackson, California area- she designed my website adn my blog which carries the same graphics. I9 am glad you like and will pass your compliments to Terry.

  19. July 31, 2012 4:53 pm

    thank you – I am glad it helps you. THAT is my prupose.

  20. July 31, 2012 4:55 pm

    Thank you….every post is different–sometimes they are lengthy and sometimes short. AND sometimes I am out of town and there is nothing at all! Thank you for sharing and I will take your comments under consideration!

Leave a Reply

